Guide to the 2018 Shergar Cup

Shergar Cup Girls Team

This unique meeting in the racing calendar tends to divide opinion among fans of the sport, the six race card takes place at Ascot where four teams comprising of three jockeys compete for the ‘Shergar Cup’. The one-off event provides something different on a Saturday afternoon for our ITV Racing Tips to attract a greater audience and introduce more people into racing. It attracts different jockeys, produces entertainment throughout the day and keeps people interested with not only the individual races but also the competition that is carried through the card with the scoring system for each team. Add in the concert after racing, the day provides a little something for everyone!


Points are awarded to the first five horses home as follows: 1st – 15 points, 2nd – 10 points, 3rd –  7 points, 4th – 5 points, 5th – 3 points. If there is a dead-heat then the points for the first and second are added together and split between the respective teams.


1.05 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Dash (Handicap) Cl2 (3yo+ 0-105) 5f

1.40 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Stayers (Handicap) Cl2 (4yo+ 0-100) 2m

2.15 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Challenge (Handicap) Cl3 (4yo+ 0-95) 1m4f

2.50 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Mile (Handicap) Cl2 (4yo+ 0-100) 1m

3.25 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Classic (Handicap) Cl3 (3yo 0-95) 1m4f

4.00 – Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup Sprint (Handicap) Cl2 (3yo 0-100) 6f

Great Britain & Ireland

Team Members

Fran Berry (Captain) – Won the Silver Saddle (Top Jockey) award at the event last year, helping his team win the Shergar Cup for the third time. His campaign has been going well, highlighted by leading Melbourne Cup hope Magic Circle as the pair gained victories in both the Chester Cup and Henry II Stakes. No doubt he’ll be hungry to retain his Silver Saddle.

Pat Cosgrave – Making his Shergar Cup debut, he’s a very consistent jockey who’s been riding predominantly for Ed Walker and Saeed Bin Suroor this season. He’s a triple Group 1 winner, interestingly enough all of those wins have come in sprints and he’s a good addition to the team.

Adam Kirby – Retained rider for Clive Cox, he’s a multiple Group 1 winner and is known most recently for his relationship with star sprinter Harry Angel. His unique style doesn’t suit everyones eye, but there is no doubting his ability in the saddle.

Key Statistics

Number of victories – 3 (2002, 2006, 2017)

Number of race wins last year – 3 (Jamie Spencer – Stake Acclaim, Fran Berry – Great Hall & Golden Apollo)


Team Members

Josephine Gordon (Captain) – Champion Apprentice back in 2016, she has made the transition into the professional ranks with consummate ease. Retained rider for Hugo Palmer this year, she’s operating at a +39.79 level stakes profit for her boss this season and is a jockey to take very seriously.

Hayley Turner – Three-time winner at the highest level and was part of the winning team in this competition back in 2015. Has made a few comebacks but needs no introduction as the best female flat jockey this country has seen.

Hollie Doyle – She stepped in at the last minute in the competition last year and showed her talents immediately when a neck second in the opening race. Coming on leaps and bounds since then, gaining her first Listed win a week after and now losing her claim, she’s a valuable inclusion.

Key Statistics

Number of victories – 1 (2015)

Number of race wins last year – 0


Team Members

Andrasch Starke (Captain) – Eight-time champion jockey in his native Germany, he’s no stranger to Ascot having won the 2012 King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes on Danedream. Another one for the European team who brings a wealth of experience.

Gerald Mosse – Veteran French jockey has won the Shergar Cup & Silver Saddle twice as a captain and is all class with major wins all around the world. He’s one of an elite group to have ridden over 500 winners in Hong Kong and was the first French rider to win the Melbourne Cup (2010). Is now plying his trade in the UK and steps in for Frankie Dettori.

Per-Anders Graberg – The team is completed with another experienced rider in the shape of Sweden’s champion jockey. The 44 year old has won the Stockholm Cup five-times and alongside his two teammates with their extensive time in the saddle, this looks a strong outfit.

Key Statistics

Number of victories – 4 (2000, 2008, 2013, 2014)

Number of race wins last year – 2 (Adrie de Vries – Euchen Glen, Alexander Pietsch – Raising Sand)

Rest Of The World

Team Members

Yutaka Take (Captain) – Captained this team to victory in 2012 and known as a legend in his home country of Japan. He’s a multiple champion in his nation and was the regular rider of Saxon Warrior’s Sire and Japanese Triple Crown winner, Deep Impact.

Corey Brown – Dual Melbourne Cup winning jockey with the latter coming on Joseph O’Brien’s Rekindling last year. Renowned as one of Australia’s best jockeys, he had a stellar 2017 campaign with a total of 5 Group 1’s and is a great addition to this team.

Joao Moreira – A man that needs no introduction as one of the worlds best jockeys. Widely known as ‘Magic Man’ he has been champion jockey in Hong Kong on three occasions and his only previous appearance in the Shergar Cup yielded 1 winning ride back in 2013.

Key Statistics

Number of victories – 6 (2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2012, 2016)

Number of race wins last year – 1 (Anthony Delpech – Glenys The Menace)


You can get our Shergar Cup Tips, live on ITV4! In terms of the winning team, it looks as though the draws have favoured Great Britain & Ireland, with the team of Fran Berry, Adam Kirby and Pat Cosgrave having plenty of leading rides. All three arrive to Ascot in great form and do hold the advantage of racecourse experience against a few of the international jockeys. A list of the rides can be found below, with plenty having strong chances!

1.05 (Dash) – El Astronaute (Pat Cosgrave), Evergate (Adam Kirby), Gracious John (Fran Berry)
1.40 (Stayers) – Juxebox Jive (Adam Kirby), Lord George (Fran Berry)
2.15 (Challenge) – Machine Learner (Fran Berry), Eddystone Rock (Pat Cosgrave)
2.50 (Mile) – Shady McCoy (Adam Kirby), Poet’s Society (Pat Cosgrave), Across Dubai (Fran Berry)
3.25 (Classic) – Blue Laureate (Pat Cosgrave), Bubble And Squeak (Adam Kirby)
4.00 (Sprint) – Shaheen (Fran Berry), Helvetian (Adam Kirby), Bungee Jump (Pat Cosgrave)

Please Gamble Responsibly